top of page
Search
  • Isabella Gomes

3/15/2021: YouTube Video How Social Media Shapes Identity

The video explains and describes the ways that social media changes and influences our daily lives. Social media has a significant impact on who we are, how we think we should be, how we portray ourselves to others, and how others view us. The video includes real world scenarios such as Facebook algorithms to display the power social media holds on us. Social media allows us to spend ours a day being influenced by a screen by starring at it for hours a day in order to escape from reality.

Social media has influenced me in many different ways. There have been dozens of times when I am scrolling through the app called Tiktok where I see a very pretty girl get thousands of likes and decide to try and change my appearance to be similar to the girls. This has also strongly affected my mental health. Social media also allows me to view everything my peers have been up to such as partying and going out which has caused me the feeling of being alone and missing out and being unincluded.

I agree with the message of the video. Social media does shape our identities. We are constantly scrolling through different forms of social medias for hours in a row being influenced by everything we see and hear on it. It allows teenagers to believe teen drinking and smoking is okay due to how much we see it online, it changes and influences our beliefs when we see other peoples opinions on a post, and it destroys body image and confidence that often leads to depression.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page